Stella and Rose's Books Logo

Stella & Rose's Books

Specialists in Rare & Collectable Books

Beano Annuals

The Beano book No. 1 was published in 1940 and annuals have been published by D.C. Thompson & Co. every year since, shortly changing their name to The Magic-Beano Book, before reverting to the former.

From 1942 to 1949 the annual was called "The Magic-Beano Book", which referred to the short-lived Magic Comic that had ceased publication in 1941.

Some of the famous characters included in this series of books are: Biffo the Bear, Dennis the Menace (and Gnasher), Rodger the Dodger, The Bash Street Kids, Pansy Potter, Minnie the Minx, Billy Whizz, Little Plum, Lord Snooty to name a few.