Stella and Rose's Books Logo

Stella & Rose's Books

Specialists in Rare & Collectable Books

Rupert Little Bear Library

There were 46 titles in the original Rupert Little Bear Library series published between 1928 and 1936 by Sampson Low, Marston and Co.

These distinctive books had yellow boards which were illustrated with black pictures and titles. The books were undated and pages were not numbered.

First editions in this series can be identified by the absence of numbers higher than self inside the front board. Second or reprint editions were mostly published with a star on the cover and listing all 46 titles inside the front cover. Some later reprints had a reduced number of pages and, in the case of Beppo stories, alterations were made.