Stella and Rose's Books Logo

Stella & Rose's Books

Specialists in Rare & Collectable Books

Malcolm Saville Index


Buckingham Family Series

A series of six books for children, featuring Juliet Buckingham and her brother Simon.

The books were published between 1950 and 1974.




View Series

Jilly Family Series

A series of eight books for children.

They were originally published between 1948 to 1953.




View Series

Lone Pine Series

Malcom Saville wrote many childrens books but is perhaps best known for the Lone Pine series.

They were first published between 1943 to 1978.





View Series


Malcolm Saville

British author Leonard Malcolm Saville was born on the 21st February 1901 in Hastings, Sussex. Sent away to boarding school at the age of nine, he received the majority of his education at the Richmond Hill School in Surrey.

On leaving school at the age of 16, he stepped into the world of the book trade, when he started work for the Oxford University Press where he found books to fulfill booksellers' orders. After a short stay at Cassell and Company in their publicity department, he began work for The Amalgamated Press in London in the same post, but was later promoted to Sales Promotion Manager.



View Article